NT Cricket’s Chairman, Dr Bruce Walker has been honoured in the 2013 Australia Day honours list for significant service to the Indigenous communities of remote Australia and the Northern Territory, and to the sport of cricket.

He has been made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Dr Walker’s achievements include:
Director, Desert Knowledge Australia, since 2006. Director, National Australia Day Council, since 2006; Chairman, Audit and Risk Committee, since 2010. Chairman, Northern Territory Research and Innovation Board, since 2010; Member, since 2004. Chairman, John Flynn Uniting Church Council, Alice Springs, 1984-1990 and 2009-2012. Chairman, Central Land Council Audit and Risk Committee, since 2012; Deputy Chair, 2010-2012. Chairman CAT Projects Pty Ltd, since 2007. Director, Centrecorp Foundation, since 2009. Director, remote Focus Project, 2010-2012. Chief Executive Officer and Founder, Centre for Appropriate Technology, 1980-2010. Project Director, Desert Peoples Centre, 2004-2010. Director, Desert Knowledge Australia, since 2006; Member, Steering Committee, 2000-2004. Director, International Development Support Services Pty Ltd, 1994-2005; commercial consulting company of Oxfam Australia. Member, National Reference Committee, Frontier Services, 1995-2005; agency of the Uniting Church. Member, Northern Territory Research and Development Advisory Committee, 1994-2002.

President, Northern Territory Cricket Association, since 2002; Vice-President, 1984-2002. Member, Cricket Australia National Game Development Committee, since 2002. President, Alice Springs Cricket Association, 1983-1986 and since 1988. Chairman, Alice Springs Town Council Sports Facilities Advisory Committee, 1992-1994 and since 1997; Member, 1995-1996.
Fellow, Australian Academy of Technological Science and Engineering, since 2008. Fellow, Australian College of Educators, since 1988.
Awards/recognition include: Centenary Medal, 2001.

Dr Walker is one of four Australia Day cricket honours, including former Alice Springs' Test cricketer Rex Sellers AOM, recognised for his work as a SA administrator after he retired from Test and Alice Springs' cricket.  Broadcaster Jim Maxwell AM and Lindsay Wood AOM have also been recognised for their contribution to cricket.