The introduction of a Men’s and Women’s Strike League into the 2017 Top End cricket season provides an exciting opportunity for local, Territory and interstate players to further develop their cricketing careers.

The Strike League is designed to stretch NT and interstate talent over a short and competitive season, to provide concentrated competitive playing opportunities and to act as a showcase and driver of interest in cricket in the Territory.

NT Cricket CEO Troy Watson sees the Strike League as an exciting addition to Top End cricket. “The NT is continuing to grow as a contributor to Australian success – we have four fully contracted first class players, Tabatha Saville made her WBBL debut last year and NT players make up a third of the current SA Emerging Redbacks Squad. However, we have identified that we need to develop more competitive opportunities for our players to allow a seamless transition deeper into the pathway.

“The Strike League is a premier competition which is designed to allow the Territory’s best to play against the best from the Cricket Australia pathway, utilising the fantastic weather and facilities that Darwin offers during the traditional southern off-season. It is an additional competitive opportunity for Territory players, a winter and development program for players in the Cricket Australia pathway and will serve as a selection tool for NT Strike programs.

“We have well known cricketers such as Jake Weatherald, D’Arcy Short, Tom Andrews, Alex Ross, Alex Gregory and Will Bosisto all choosing the Strike League as their off-season option, along with WA rookie Kyle Gardiner and Australian Under 17 and QLD Pathways player Nathan McSweeney.  

“This competition also supports the Darwin cricket community by having access to players, coaches, support staff and umpires, along with significant coach education opportunities, and the ability to leverage the substantial contribution made by the NTIS to cricket across the Northern Territory.

“The Women’s Strike League will commence with a weekly competition from Monday 22 May and will continue the development of the female pathway in the Top End. We have a very popular weekly Female Academy and are preparing for a third outing of the NT Strike in the female division at the Australian Country Cricket Championships. The Strike League initiative allows for a welcoming, competitive environment for promising female cricketers as we continue to work towards a regular female competition in Darwin,” he said.

The NT Strike League is supported by the Club Tropical Resort and i-Fitness 24/7.

NT Strike League – The Facts

  • Four teams: Desert Blaze, City Cyclones, Northern Tide, Southern Storm
  • Players include marquee players, local ‘rookies’, Darwin players, traditional ‘imports’
  • Men’s competition: 4 weeks, combination of 50 Over and T20 fixtures, starts 4 June
  • Women’s competition: 6 weeks, starts 22 May
  • Primary vehicle for NT Strike selection for the Redbacks League and Female Australian Country Cricket Championships

The Men’s Strike League fixture is available here and the Women’s Strike League fixture will be available shortly.

A recent ABC Darwin radio interview with NT Cricket's Mark Sorell and player Nathan McSweeney is available here.

Strike League – The Squads

Northern Tide

Jake Weatherald (SACA/Tracy Village)

Alex Gregory (SACA/Tracy Village)

Nic Cowling (Nightcliff)

Varun George (Darwin)

Brandon King (Tracy Village)

Pat Kitschke (Tracy Village)

Daniel Leerdman (Tracy Village)

Jacob Linsenmeier (Tracy Village)

Hamish Martin (Tracy Village)

Harry Martin (Nightcliff)

Nick Patterson (Tracy Village)

Lincoln Rexy-Petty (Tracy Village)

Corey Sinclair (Tracy Village)

Wilson Ryan (Tracy Village)

Janu Varatharajan (Tracy Village)

Charlie Wakim (NSW)

Madura Weerasinghe (Nightcliff)

Udara Weerasinghe (Nightcliff)

Southern Storm

D’Arcy Short (WACA/PINT)

Matt Bacon (PINT)

Nick Bertus (NSW)

Marc Carter (Palmerston)

Zac Chapman (PINT)

Ben Chasemore (PINT)

Kyle Gardiner (WACA/Palmerston)

Cameron Hyde (Palmerston)

Jack James (PINT)

Kurt Johnson (Palmerston)

Iziah Lange (Palmerston)

Todd McCann (Palmerston)

Liam McFarlane (Palmerston)

Nathan McSweeney (PINT)

Robbie van der Meulen (PINT)

Josh Ormrod Healy (Palmerston)

Ben Wakim (PINT)

City Cyclones

Tom Andrews (SACA/Darwin)

Will Andrews (Waratah)

Chris Campbell (Waratah)

Bailey Curran (Darwin)

Declan Curran (Darwin)

Harry Dalton (Waratah)

Jacob Dickman (Darwin)

Ash Doolan (Darwin)

Josh Doyle (Darwin)

Jack Kessell (Waratah)

Ben Musgrave (Waratah)

Antum Naqvi (Waratah)

Jack Page (Darwin)

James Seymour (Waratah)

Luke Shelton (Darwin)

Aaron Summers (Darwin)

Cooper Wenck (Darwin)

Luke Zanchetta (Darwin)

Desert Blaze

Alex Ross (SACA/Sthn Districts)

Will Bosisto (WACA)

Jeremy Binks (Sthn Districts)

Nick Carruthers (Sthn Districts)

Adi Dave (Sthn Districts)

Brad Davis (Sthn Districts)

Sam Dick (West)

Uli van Duycker (University)

Ben Ellis (Gapview Works)

Dean Fry (Sthn Districts)

Matt Hammond (Sthn Districts)

Nathan Hangan (Sthn Districts)

Daniel McKell (Sthn Districts)

Dylan Mullen (Sthn Districts)

Daniel Mylius (Sthn Districts)

Mitch Pemberton (Sthn Districts)

Andrew Richards (Sthn Districts)

Luke Robins (SACA)

For further details, contact NT Cricket on 08 8944 8900.