Federals’s Dan Donaldson pipped West’s Jayden Dick at the post to take home the 2020/21 Jarrod Wapper Medal for his outstanding season in the Red Centre at the Alice Springs Cricket Association’s (ASCA) Presentation Night held this evening. Donaldson polled a huge 21 votes in eight matches edging one vote clear of Dick in Round 12, polling 3 votes to claim ASCA’s most prestigious award.


Donaldson’s outstanding season saw him secure more than the Wapper medal, his 30 wickets for the season with an average of 4.47 saw him claim the A Grade Bowling average and aggregate award, the A Grade batting average award with 446 runs at 49.56 and the ASCA Senior Cricket of the Year honours.


Alice Tigers’ Jolene Preece was awarded the 2020/21 Jane Braszell Medal, the Women’s Best and Fairest award voted on by opposing captains after women’s each game. Preece was awarded votes in every game she played, finishing with 19 votes, four votes ahead of Tiara Doolan.


Jayden Dick took home the A Grade batting aggregate award while his club West, claimed the Spirit of Cricket.


Caitlan Couch was awarded the Women’s batting average award while Bronte Stray had a successful season with the bat making 252 runs to take home the batting aggregate award and the Jenny Kroker Women’s Cricketer of the Year.


Rachael Welsh was awarded the Nanet Pagsanjan Women’s Rookie of the Year award.


Elizabeth Johnson was recognised as the Girls Junior Cricketer of the Year. Taking 20 wickets at 8.80, Johnson was also awarded the Division 1 bowling average and aggregate awards.


Cooper Blanch was awarded the Division 1 Champion Player and Champion Boy’s Junior Cricketer of the Year for a second year running. Blanch’s awards kept flowing, taking home the Division 1 Batting average and aggregate awards with 375 runs at 187.5.


The volunteer of the year couldn’t be split this year with both Christine Ponter and Shannan Ryan receiving the honours for their work in Women’s and Junior Cricket respectively.  


Federal Asbuild Cricket Club was awarded the Spirit of Cricket award.


ASCA President Michael Trull thanked Carlton Mid, Alice Springs Town Council, Intersport and Yeperenye Shopping Centre in his address and congratulated all the award winners of their achievements.

On Thursday night Federal Asbuild were crowned the 2020/21 Yeperenye Shopping Centre Women’s competition champions chasing down West’s total in 9.3 overs.

The senior and Division 1 junior competition Grand Finals will he held tomorrow, Saturday 26 March. Further information can be found here.

Award winners:

A Grade

Batting average: Daniel Donaldson – 446 runs @ 49.56

Batting aggregate: Jayden Dick – 505 runs

Bowling average: Daniel Donaldson – 30 wickets @ 4.47

Bowling aggregate: Daniel Donaldson – 30 wickets


B Grade

Batting average: Craig James – 309 runs @ 61.08

Batting aggregate: Craig Prettejohn – 577 runs @48.08

Bowling average: Michael Leerson – 27 wickets @ 11.30

Bowling aggregate: Michael Leerson – 27 wickets


C Grade

Batting average: Luke Tulloch – 544 runs @136

Batting aggregate: Luke Tulloch – 544 runs

Bowling average:  Gavin Mcargill – 17 wickets @ 10.59

Bowling aggregate: Gavin Mcargill – 17 wickets



Batting average: Caitlin Couch – 172 runs @ 86.0

Batting aggregate: Bronte Stray – 253 runs

Bowling average: Rose Moore – 8 wickets @ 7.50

Bowling aggregate: Rose Moore – 8 wickets


Division 1

Batting average: Cooper Blanch – 375 runs @ 187.5

Batting aggregate: Cooper Blanch – 375 runs

Bowling average: Elizabeth Johnson – 20 wickets @ 8.80

Bowling aggregate: Elizabeth Johnson – 20 wickets


Division 2

Batting aggregate: Cooper Murphy – 252 runs

Bowling aggregate: Mohamed Shakeel & Harshita Singh – 10 wickets


2020/21 Wapper Medal: Daniel Donaldson

2020/21 Braszell Medal: Jolene Preece

ASCA Senior Cricketer of the Year: Daniel Donaldson

Division 1 Cricketer of the Year: Cooper Blanch

Division 2 Cricketer of the Year: Cooper Murphy

ASCA Boy’s Cricketer of the Year: Cooper Blanch

ASCA Girl’s Cricketer of the Year: Elizabeth Johnson

Jenny Kroker Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Bronte Stray

Nanet Pagsanjan Women’s Rookie of the Year: Rachael Welsh