Sunday’s day-night encounter between the Southern Storm and Desert Blaze at DXC Arena will go a long way in deciding who finishes the One-Day tournament on top.


The Storm currently sits undefeated with four wins on top of the Strike League One-Day ladder with two rounds remaining.


The Blaze is in second position with three wins after narrowly losing to the Storm on the last ball when they met in round two.


Heading into round five, the Blaze lead the way on percentage at 2.14%, with the Storm behind them on 1.7%.


A win for the Storm would put them two games clear on top of the ladder and award them tournament champions.


A win for the Blaze would keep the tournament championship alive going into the last round, where winning and percentage will come into play.


All in all, it’s going to be a cracking round of cricket, particularly in this top-two clash between the tournament’s best-performed teams.


To begin this week’s look into the games, we head straight to what could be the match of the tournament...


Round 5: Southern Storm vs. Desert Blaze

1:30 pm at DXC Arena


The last time these two teams met saw the Storm scrape through in a remarkable run chase to win off the last ball of the innings.


From a position of comfort, the Blaze were suddenly hit by a Storm via some fantastic late hitting from all-rounders Dean Fry and Brodie Symons, who managed to claim 12 runs from the last over to attain victory.


This time around, the Storm will be without Fry as he is unavailable.


New Zealand First-class Canterbury batsman Harry Chamberlain will come into the Storm line-up, replacing Fry.


Storm captain Mac Wright, coming off a stellar 103* off 59 deliveries last week, will be one to watch out for, particularly after scoring 73 against the Blaze when they met previously in round two.


All-rounder Josh Kann will be important for the Storm as the Queenslander sits in the top 10 in wicket taken at six wickets and top five in runs scored at 144 runs from three innings.


Storm quick Blade Baxter and Blaze off-spinner Hamish Martin will be the bowlers to watch as the pair share the lead in wickets taken in the competition at eight.


Blaze off-spinner Corey Rocchiccioli will be another one to look out for as the Western Australian has taken seven wickets from three games.


With the bat, the Blaze will be strengthened by Hayden Kerr who has scored 139 runs from three innings while Hugo Burdon will be one to watch as he sits second in the leading run-scorers at 159 runs from four innings.


This match is set to be a see-sawing contest as both sides strive for top spot on the One-Day Strike League ladder with two rounds to go. 


Round 5: Northern Tide vs. City Cyclones

10:30 am at Cazalys Arena


The Cyclones will be giving it their all to secure their first win of the tournament after a disappointing loss last week to the Blaze.


The Tide will be looking to secure their second win of the tournament and push up the ladder heading into the last round of the competition.


The Tide will be led by Jason Sangha who has scored 151 runs from four innings this tournament including a high score of 72 which he achieved when the Tide previously played the Cyclones in round two.


Cyclones fast bowler Kane Hurley will be crucial to the bowling attack and may need to repeat what he did last time against the Tide where he took four wickets.


A win for the Cyclones could potentially take them off the bottom of the ladder while a loss will keep them winless at the bottom of the table.


The Tide will be hoping a centre wicket training session on Friday will have them well prepared for a solid performance at Cazalys Arena on Sunday.


This daytime match is certain to be a tight one with both teams hungry to perform and gather a win.


Southern Storm

Mac Wright (c), Blade Baxter, Harry Chamberlain, Ash Chandrasinghe, Sam Fanning, Josh Kann, Micheal Kudra (wk), Conor McInerney, Arjun Nair, Kyle Scrimegour, Brodie Symonds.


Desert Blaze

Tom Andrews (c), Dylan Brasher, Hugo Burdon, Coby Edmondstone, Max Hatzoglou (wk), Jackson Isakka, Hayden Kerr, Hamish Martin, Corey Rocchiccioli, Chris Tremain, Jack White.


Northern Tide

Jason Sanga (c), Anthony Adlam, Matthew Gilkes (wk), Ryan Hackney, Matt Hammond, Corey Hunter, Noah McFadyen, Jayllen Naganayagam, Antum Naqvi, Callum Stow, Austin Umpherston.


City Cyclones

Keegan Oates (c), Jackson Edmondstone, Jack Edwards, Tushaar Garg, Dylan Hunter, Kane Hurley, Campbell Kellaway, Ryan Mcelduff, Josh Neill, Zac Sleeman (wk), Banjo Waring.