Darwin & Districts Cricket Competition’s awards night was held Wednesday 18 September at Club Tropical Resort where PINT Cricket Club player Josh Clarkson was named the 2019 Ralph Wiese Medallist following a very successful Darwin & Districts Cricket Competition 2019 season. 

The Ralph Wiese Medal is Darwin Cricket’s most prestigious award and is calculated via umpire points awarded for player performance per round. Clarkson also won the Premier Grade batting average award with 726 runs for the season averaging 51.86 and was named in the NT News/Sunday Territorian Team of the Year. Clarkson thanked PINT Cricket Club and the DDCC via video as he returned to his hometown in New Zealand Tuesday morning.

The Premier Grade Cricketer of the Year award was won by James Seymour from Waratah Cricket Club and the Women’s Cricketer of the Year, also from Waratah Cricket Club, Megan White.

Nightcliff Cricket Club was awarded the Club Champion Award, based on excellent performances through all grades and age groups throughout the season and PINT Cricket Club took home the Spirit of Cricket Award.

The 2019 Margaret Coady Memorial Award is awarded for services to Darwin cricket and was this year awarded to Anthony Harrison from PINT Cricket Club.

Other major award winners include:

Premier Grade Award for Fielding – Liam Hindle, Nightcliff Cricket Club

Bob Vowles Curator’s Award – Tracy Village Cricket Club

Club Championship Award, Runners Up – Darwin Cricket Club

The NT News / Sunday Territorian 2019 Team of the Year was named as:

Graeme Beghin – Southern Districts CC

Alex Bleakley – Palmerston CC

Harry Chamberlain – Darwin CC

Josh Clarkson – PINT CC

Isaac Conway – Waratah CC

Coby Edmondstone – Tracy Village CC

Matthew Hammond – Southern Districts

Jayden Lennox – Palmerston CC

James Seymour – Waratah CC

Matthew Spoors – Nightcliff CC

Kierran Voelkl – Southern Districts CC

Udara Weerasinghe – Nightcliff CC

Beau Webster – Darwin CC

iFitness E Grade

Batting average winner 56.33 Braden Menzies Darwin Cricket Club

Batting aggregate winner 476 runs Peter Lei Darwin Cricket Club

Bowling Average and Aggregate with 29 wickets at 9.38 Cecil Abraham Darwin Cricket Club

EzyQuip Hire D Grade

Batting average 57.88 Gurinder Singh Tracy Village Cricket Club

Batting aggregate 615 runs Suneeth Vinod Suseela Tracy Village Cricket Club

Bowling average 25 wickets at 11.28 Gurinder Singh Tracy Village Cricket Club

Bowling aggregate with 33 wickets Sebastian Boney Tracy Village Cricket Club

BLK Sports C Grade

Batting average 58.22 Michael Rowe Palmerston Cricket Club

Batting aggregate 574 runs Daniel Fett Palmerston Cricket Club

Bowling average 28 wickets at 10.54 Shannon Smith Darwin Cricket Club

Bowling aggregate both taking 29 wickets Lachlan Chilcot Palmerston Cricket Club and Mark Clifton Tracy Village Cricket Club

B Grade

Batting average, 75.2 Tom Foley Nightcliff Cricket Club

Batting aggregate, 445 runs Shane Buttfield Palmerston Cricket Club

Bowling average 20 wickets at 8 Stephen Shields Darwin Cricket Club

Bowling aggregate with 28 wickets Chris McEvoy, Southern Districts

Carlton Mid Premier Grade

Batting average of 91.57 Graeme Beghin Southern Districts

Batting aggregate of 726 runs Josh Clarkson PINT Cricket Club

Bowling average and aggregate with 38 wickets at 13.36 Jayden Lennox Palmerston Cricket Club

Photos from the evening were take by Roz Lavercombe and can be viewed here

Copy of the DDCC Senior Awards Presentation (includes Ralph Wiese Medal vote count)