In its third and final game of the 2020 National Premier T20 Cricket Championships, Desert Blaze was drawn to play Western Districts (ACT) at Park 12 (No. 1) in Adelaide.

Districts won the toss and chose to bowl against a Blaze team keen to get a win on the board after Round 1 and 2 near misses. The NT side top four all got starts with opener Ben Abbott in a particularly aggressive frame, making 34 off 35 balls faced including 3 fours and 2 sixers.

At 4-103, Blaze looked set for a competitive score, but the middle order and tail could not maintain the momentum and a moderate 9-121 resulted at the compulsory closure.

Early wickets were the key to victory, and with typical belligerence, Michael Ninneman pounced on the ACT batsmen taking the first three and Districts were teetering at 3-33 after five overs. Matt Hammond chipped in with the wicket of the dangerous Tom Engelbrecht and at the halfway mark the ACT team was 4-70.

However, despite the Ninneman heroics, the moderate chase total proved the downfall for Desert Blaze and Districts got over the line by two wickets.


Match Scores

Round 3 – Western Districts: 8-124 (19) (Joseph Cooke 42, Tom Engelbrecht 41; Michael Ninneman 4-14) d Desert Blaze: 9-121 (20) (Ben Abbott 34, Harry Chamberlain 30; Scott Murn 3-21).