The Imparja Cup has a proud history and is the premier Indigenous Carnival for NT Cricket and sees teams of men and women from Major Centres, Communities and schools competing in outdoor and indoor cricket divisions.  At the same time, Cricket Australia runs the National Indigenous Cricket Championships alongside the Imparja Cup, which is also held in Alice Springs and attracts interstate teams. 

Imparja Cup custodian Shane Franey is looking forward to another successful Imparja Cup competition. “We welcome players from across the Territory and Australia to take part in this uniquely Northern Territory Indigenous cricket competition and I encourage everyone, from cities, towns and communities, to register for what will be another fantastic event,” he said.

Tournament Director Mitch Farnell is expecting a strong turn-out of teams from across the Territory.  “In 2017 we had a record number of teams taking part, with more than 500 cricketers playing in the Imparja Cup.  We have had a strong response to our Remote Indigenous Cricket Carnivals and our Remote Red Dust Sports Voucher Program, and that success has contributed an increase in Indigenous participants over the past year.

“NT Cricket has been working closely with the Imparja Cup Advisory Committee, which includes Imparja Cup custodians Shane Franey and Rossy Williams, to ensure that the competition is reflective of the entire Indigenous cricket community. The event is a true opportunity for cricket, family and celebration, showcasing the best of Two Strong Cultures.

Players and teams travel from across the Territory to attend, with some teams travelling from as far as the Top End of Queensland and Western Australia. It's free for Territorians to participate, with a free uniform, match balls and playing equipment all provided. Through NT Cricket's partnership with the Alice Springs Prison, unique hand painted trophies are made and presented to the award recipients of each division.

Supported by the NT Government, Lord’s Taverners NT, Imparja TV and the Yeperenye Shopping Centre, the first Imparja Cup match of 2018 will be held on Monday 5 February in Alice Springs.  An exhibition match between the Alice Springs Originals and the Tennant Creek Originals will take place on Thursday 1 February at Flynn Drive Oval.

Matches will continue throughout the week, with the Community Division finals scheduled from 5pm on Friday 9 February. The Major Centres final will take place on Saturday 10 February.

Information and eligibility criteria are available at

Imparja Cup Divisions:

  • Major Centres – 11 a side / T20 matches
  • Community Men – 8 a side
  • Community Women – 8 a side
  • Indoor Cricket – mixed teams, 6 a side played pre-tournament (1 & 2 February)


Imparja Cup Fixtures and Results:

Visit the MyCricket website HERE for the fixures and results of the Imparja Cup Matches.