Northern Territory Cricket is pleased to be able to confirm the 27th Imparja Cup will be held from 1 to 6 February 2020. The National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC) will be held during the week leading up to the Imparja Cup with cultural activities occurring the overlapping days. Both the events will be held at venues across Alice Springs including TIO Traeger Par and Albrecht Park.  

Once again, there will be four divisions played in the Imparja Cup competition; mixed indoor cricket in a Super 6’s format, a 20-over Men’s Major Centres Division and Super 8’s format Men’s Community and Women’s Community division. The Imparja Schools Cup will also return for 2020.

Each year, we celebrate a piece of artwork, and its accompanying story, which is used as the theme and graphic for the event. This year’s a piece titled ‘A fight between two bush potatoes’ by Christopher Walker, is a story of two families in conflict over land, both being fooled by caterpillar Jajuclumba. We look forward to seeing this artwork on all Imparja team playing shirts.

NT Cricket Head of Community Cricket, Narelle Morrison said the Imparja Cup is like no other cricket carnival, it is a time to celebrate Indigenous culture and it’s great to see how the game of cricket brings everyone together.

“Imparja Cup is one of my most favorite times of the cricket year, we get to see our most talented Indigenous cricketers converge on the Red Centre to represent their Indigenous communities”

“Thanks to Imparja Television, as naming rights partner as well as major partners the NT Government, Taverners Northern Territory, Yeperenye Shopping Centre, DXC Technology and Statewide Super for their generous support of the event, we are hoping the 2020 tournament is the biggest and best to date,” said Morrison.

Registrations are now open for teams to nominate in the following divisions;

School's Division (Information to be circulated)

Indoor Cricket (Super 6’s format) 6 players per team, held on Friday 32 January 2020

Women’s Community Division, proudly sponsored by Statewide Super (Super 8s format) 8 players per team

Men’s Community Division, proudly sponsored by DXC Technology (Super 8’s format) 8 players per team

Men’s Major Centres Division, proudly sponsored by Yeperenye shopping centre (T20 Format) 11 players per team

Registration details can be found here and registration is free and open to new and past teams.

The first Imparja match was held on Australia Day in 1994 after discussions with Indigenous cricketers Shane and Mervyn Franey from Alice Springs and Ross Williams from Tennant Creek. These gentlemen wanted to host an annual cricket match between Alice Springs and Tennant Creek with the purpose of promoting Indigenous cricket.

In 1998 Shane Franey and Ross William approached NT Cricket to seek assistance in organising the logistics of the game, shortly after NT Cricket commenced their support of the matches Cricket Australia also showed its support and officially recognized the event as a national competition.

2019 Imparja Cup winners

Indoor Cricket – Desert Eagles

Women’s Community – Bush Potatoes (for the ninth consecutive year!)

Men’s Community – Red Centre Wranglers

Men’s Major Centres – Darwin Barras