The Yeperenye Shopping Centre Major Centres Grand Final was held at Traeger Park, played between the Central Hurricanes (Alice Springs) and Top End Thunder (Darwin).


Top End Thunder won the toss and elected to bat, however the Central Hurricanes pounced early with David Trindle falling to Trevor Presley in the second over. Presley then went on to take 3/8(3). Curtly Reid top scored for the Top End Thunder with 20 runs off 23 balls. 


The Hurricanes went into bat chasing a mere 65 runs but after losing 3 wickets in 10 deliveries the contest tightened up. In the end, the Hurricanes chased down the total in 12.4 overs, notwithstanding the Thunders’ gallant effort taking six wickets during the innings.


The Kalano Crocs and Brothers In Arms faced off in the DXC Technology Men’s Community Grand Final at Flynn Drive in hot Alice Springs conditions.


Lachlan Sharpe top scored for the Brothers In Arms, retiring after making 30 runs, with the Brothers team finishing on 139 after their 14 overs. The Kalano Crocs spent no time in chasing down the total with Jordon Cole and Lewis Lampton both forced to retire after making 33 and 32 runs respectively. It came down to the last over with the Crocs’ Captain Kenny Maxwell hitting a four to seal the deal and secure the Katherine team with the win.


The Statewide Super Women’s Community Division was played between the Central Desert Team (Laramba) and Ladeez team (Alice Springs). Central Desert batted first to make a total of 87. Simona Tilmouth top scored for the Larabma women with 30 runs and took 2 wickets. It was the consistent batting from the Ladeez team with four of the six batters making double figures which saw them take out the title. The Ladeez team celebration spoke to how special the Imparja Cup is for the women and are assured they will be back to defend their title next year.


The Yeperenye Shopping Centre Leading Run Scorer was Top End Thunder’s Shannon Smith with 151 runs @ 75.5 and leading wicket taker Taki Shioji (Tennant Creek) with 13 wickets @ 8.62.


Brothers In Arm’s Barry Cooke was awarded the Marcus Rosas Community Men’s Spirit of Cricket award and the Community Men’s MVP, Tennant Creek’s Sylvania Shannon received the Jenny Crocker Community Women’s Spirit of Cricket award and Andrew Kelly from Top End Thunder the Yeperenye Shopping Centre Major Centre’s Spirit of Cricket award.


St Joseph’s Suns student Trevorn Doolan was awarded the Rossy Williams Junior Spirit of Cricket Award and Matthew Green from Central Hurricanes with the Rossy Williams and Shane Franey Major Centres MVP award.


Irena Edwards-Kelly from Tennant Creek received the Community Women’s MVP award.

NT Cricket CEO Joel Morrison said it’s been a fantastic week of celebrating cricket and culture with 36 teams converging in the Red Centre for both the Imparja Cup and Schools cups.

“A big thank you to the NT Government for their ongoing support of this event, without it the event wouldn’t be possible.

“We are also very fortunate to have wonderful support from the Alice Springs Town Council, Taverners NT, Imparja television, Yeperenye Shopping Centre, DXC Technology, Statewide Super, Cricket Australia and NO MORE.

“Building on the wonderful celebration of cricket and culture in the Red Centre, unquestionably the home of Indigenous cricket in Australia, we look forward to the 29th Imparja Cup in 2022,” he said.