Roxanne Fitzgerald, from the Katherine Times reports:

Spirits were sky high on Saturday as the Katherine Camels claimed their first grand final win against four-time champions, the Crocs.  The unexpected victory saw the Camels’ captain Tim Delaney score 51 runs, making it an easy win 3-137 to 10-136.  The 2018 Katherine and District Cricket League grand final saw the top two teams up against each other on the field after 15 rounds – the Bats and the Magpies were knocked out of the competition early. 

With high stakes after a close season, the teams gave it their all for the spectators watching in anticipation.  The Camels’ captain won Best in Final, and the Crocs’ Sandeep Butter was awarded Most Wickets with a score of 27.  Also from the Katherine Crocs, Chander Singh was acknowledged as most valuable player.  Bowling trophies for the season were awarded to Andrew McKerracher 5-38, Lokesh Anand 5-36 and Rhys Langley 5-17. And batting trophies for the season were awarded to Shane Bryant 104 and 112, Jarrod Moxey 127 and 108, Chander Singh 147 and 118 and Simon Faulkner 112. 

The Katherine and District Cricket League season will start again in April 2019.  For more information, follow the Katherine District Cricket League on Facebook HERE