Australian Cricket tonight celebrated the grassroots cricket community by recognising the contribution of volunteers, programs and initiatives at the 2020-21 national Community Cricket Awards via a virtual awards ceremony.


Forming part of this week’s National Volunteer Week, with a theme of Recognise. Reconnect. Reimagine, Northern Territory Cricket had one national finalist at this evening’s virtual national presentation awards event, Marcus Rosas, who was awarded the 2020-21 Community Match Official of the Year award.


Marcus has been involved in cricket in the Northern Territory for over 15 years and recently received his Level 1 Umpires Accreditation to join only a small number of accredited Indigenous Cricket umpires in Australia.


Marcus has, and continues to, play an instrumental part in the Imparja Cup and has been the key driver in coordinating and running Community Cricket Carnivals in remote areas of the Northern Territory including in Katherine, Timber Creek, Tennant Creek, Borroloola and even the Tiwi Islands.


In 2019, as part of the work he does with the NO MORE campaign, Marcus organised a three game series between Katherine and Tennant creek as well as a preseason games between Katherine and Darwin.


Marcus’ passion for cricket and desire to create safe, welcoming and inclusive environments, both on and off the cricket field, drives his love of Umpiring. After Marcus stopped playing cricket, he looked for a way to still be involved in the game and found umpiring to be his calling with a focus on playing in the ‘Spirit of the Game’.


2020-21 Community Cricket award winners
Indoor Facility of the Year: Bouncer Indoor Sports (WA)
Community Cricket Coach of the Year: Mark Macdonald, Winston Hills Cricket Club (NSW)
Inclusion & Diversity Initiative of the Year: Bateman Junior Cricket Club (WA)
Community Match Official of the Year: Marcus Rosas (NT)
Young Leader of the Year: Daniel Smith, Sorell Cricket Club (TAS)
Community Partnership of the Year: Kingsley Woodvale Junior Cricket Club (WA)
Technology & Media Initiative of the Year: Jarryd Simister & Nick Work, Coromandel Valley Ramblers Cricket Club (SA)
Women & Girls Initiative of the Year: Leya Wilson, Charlestown Junior Cricket Club and Newcastle Junior Cricket Association (NSW)
Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year: Adelaide Nepalese Cricket Association (SA)
Celebrating Cricket in Schools: Stuart Medcraft, Mowbray Cricket Club (TAS)
Community Cricket Association of the Year: Alexandra & Eastern Hills Cricket Association (SA)
Community Cricket Club of the Year: Leschenault Cricket Club (WA)