Congratulations to our NT stars - Kane Richardson (South Australia / Melbourne Renegades) and D'Arcy Short (Western Australia / Hobart Hurricanes) who have been named in Cricket Australia's 15-player squad to tour England and Zimbabwe later this year.

Both Short and Richardson have been selected in the One Day International squad and the T20 International squad.

Cricket Australia National Selector Trevor Hohns said: "We have selected a 15-player squad as we push forward in our preparations for the ICC Cricket World Cup in England in 2019.

“Obviously, these are the conditions we will face during the tournament so now is a perfect chance to give these players an opportunity to press their case for selection.”

Katherine born D’Arcy Short is currently playing for the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League and relocated from NT to WA to pursue his cricket under Justin Langer.  

He made his debut in the T20 International format this year after a stand out season with the Hobart Hurricanes.  Short has been named in the One-Day squad for the first time, hot on the heels of his selection for the Indigenous XI set to play the historic matches in England.  Hohns said: “D’Arcy is relatively new to one-day cricket but impressed us with his form in T20 cricket last season.

 “He brings an all-round package to the side, with strong fielding and bowling skills and we believe he will combine very well with Aaron at the top of the order.”

Joining D'Arcy Short is another NT player, Kane Richardson, who relocated from the NT to play for South Australia as well as starring for the Melbourne Renegades in the T20 Big Bash League. 

Richardson was awarded a National Contract last month after a solid summer that saw him play three ODI's in India as well as five T20 matches for Australia in the tri-series between New Zealand and England. 

Both our NT players will be looking to cement their spots in the team with plenty of white ball cricket to come.


National Selection  tours of England and Zimbabwe

ODI squad: Tim Paine (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye

T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Travis Head, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Jack Wildermuth

Qantas Tour of England

June 7: Warm-up v Sussex, Hove (D/N)

June 9: Warm-up v Middlesex, Lord's

June 13: First ODI, The Oval (D/N)

June 16: Second ODI, Cardiff

June 19: Third ODI, Trent Bridge (D/N)

June 21: Fourth ODI, Durham (D/N)

June 24: Fifth ODI, Old Trafford

June 27: Only T20, Edgbaston (D/N)


Qantas T20I tri-series Tour of Zimbabwe

Sunday, July 1: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

Monday, July 2: Pakistan vs Australia

Tuesday, July 3: Australia vs Zimbabwe

Wednesday, July 4: Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

Thursday, July 5: Pakistan vs Australia

Friday, July 6: Australia vs Zimbabwe

Sunday, July 8: Final