At the 2020 NT Sports Awards held at the Darwin Convention Centre on Saturday 5 December, Kane Richardson was named the 2020 NT Sportsperson of the Year while the Southern Districts Cricket Clubs’ 2019 Premier Grade team took home the NT Local Performance of the Year.  


Richardson follows the 2019 success of D’Arcy Short who was the recipient of the top honour last year. Richardson’s success in cricket at the highest level in One Day and T20 cricket, representing Australia, as well as Sheffield Shield Cricket for South Australia and in the BBL for the Melbourne Renegades saw him claim the prestigious award.


Southern Districts Cricket Club were awarded the 2020 NT Local Performance of the Year. The Crocs’ outstanding 2019 season saw the team complete the season undefeated and crowned the Premier Grade One Day and Two Day Premiers for the first time since the inception of the DDCC Competition.  


Rob Stewart was also acknowledged at the awards as one of the three finalists in the NT Official of the Year category.