With rain in Mackay, there has been a change to the Under 19 Male National Championships schedule. The availability of fields over the coming days due to the weather, has resulted in a decision to play T20 matches on Sunday (Round 3) and Monday (Round 4). The rest day will be kept on Tuesday and 50 over matches will return as previously scheduled on Wednesday and Thursday for finals.


NT put the Round 2 disappointment behind them and although beaten, there was clear evidence of a better mind set against South Australia in their Round 3 match played at Great Barrier Reef Arena. The Territory maintained pressure in the field and with the bat, going on to record a four-wicket victory.

Batting first after winning the toss, the SACA’s lost an early wicket when Tom Menzies trapped the skipper Isaac Higgins in front with only 12 runs on the board and when the same bowler rattled the stumps of Samuel Rahaley soon after, the NT had plenty to cheer about. More cheering when Menzies snared his third and together with a runout and wicket to Devlin Webb and South Australia were teetering at 6-41 after 11 overs.

The NT struggled to fully capitalise on their ascendancy but despite some rear-guard action by the SACA batsmen, the men in black and ochre held their collective nerve and limited SA to a meagre 9-94 at the close.

Two early wickets with a solitary run on the board set the Territory back on its heels, however, solid middle order batting led by Awad Naqvi (37*) and Harshtik Bimbral (20) ensured the required total was achieved and a meritorious four wicket victory resulted.

Star of the day was Tom Menzies, and he was delighted if not relieved at finally getting the win.

“The highlight was grabbing the win – our first of the tournament,” Menzies said.

“It had been raining so I stuck to what I know best and was rewarded for bowling to a plan.

“The experience here has been awesome – but mostly from today I’ve learned to keep things simple.”

Match Scores: Northern Territory 6-98 (19.2) (Awad Naqvi 37*, Harshtik Bimbral 20; Campbell Thompson 2-9, Isaac Higgins 2-28). d South Australia 9-94 (20) (James Reuther 25; Tom Menzies 3-14, Devlin Webb 2-12, Jaxon Treumer 2-20).