In the matches held today, the City Cyclones met the Northern Tide on Marrara Cricket Ground No. 1. Batting first, the Cyclones got off to an indifferent start after losing opener William Andrews with the score on 0. A 206 run partnership between Joshua Doyle (95 from 99) and Jacob Dickman (115 from 151) steadied the ship for the Cyclones leading to a competitive 271 from their 50 overs. Adam Dilley (17) was the only other Cyclone player to reach double figures. Udara Weerasinghe and Hamish Martin each collected three wickets from their 10 overs.

The Cyclones bowling attack started strongly with opening quick Aaron Summers picking up Daniel Leerdam in the first over for 0. Despite efforts from Varun George (44) and Alexander Gregory (61) the Tide couldn’t get any momentum, losing wickets regularly and ending all out for 178 in the 42nd over.

On Marrara Cricket Ground No. 2, Desert Blaze took on the unbeaten Southern Storm. Desert Blaze captain Nick Carruthers would had been happy with his decision to bowl first after having the Southern Storm 2 down for 40 after picking up the big wickets of opening pair Benjamin Wakim (6) and D'Arcy Short (30).

A special piece of fielding by Matthew Hammond had the League’s leading run scorer William Bosisto run out for 28 and the Storm in trouble. However New South Welshman Nicholas Bertus (129 from 109) and Robert Vandermeulen (46 from 39) combined superbly to lead the Storm to a formidable 8/284 from their 50 overs. Desert Blaze bowler Dean Enniss was instrumental in keeping the Storm to under 300, collecting 4 wickets for 48 runs from his 8 overs.

Starts from Nick Carruthers (25), Bradley Davis (14) and Dean Fry (20) weren’t enough to get the Desert Blaze over the line falling 129 runs short after a fiery bowling spell from openers William Bosisto (3 wickets after 10 overs) and New Zealander Matthew Bacon (2 for 27 after 6 overs).

The full scorecard is available here.