The Northern Territory U17s squad has been confirmed, naming the final 14 travelling to Mackay and compete in the Male Under 17 National Championships from 30 September to 10 October.

The Northern Territory have been able to field a complete team leading into the Championships without relying on ‘top up’ players from the other states. While Jayllen Naganaygam and Sam Elder do not reside in the Territory, they both have strong links to the Top End. Jayllen plays the Darwin and Districts Cricket season for Nightcliff during the ‘dry’ season and Sam Elder has been involved in the Strike League competition and played several games in and for the NT. Tom Kelaart is from Alice Springs, although plays in the Brisbane Cricket League as he attends Brisbane Boys College (boarding school).

Adrian Gallagher has been appointed as the U17s Head Coach while Brodie Driscoll-Court will join him as Assistant Coach for the Championships.

Northern Territory, Head of Pathways Neale Price said there is an exciting energy and buzz around this group of boys and they were all ready to go and stamp the Northern Territory brand of cricket on the field in Mackay.

“We have been looking for the final fourteen who will go away and represented the NT since early May and are pleased with the final group.

“Many of these boys have played in the Junior Strike League and even in the Men’s Strike League competition, giving them some great match experience in the lead up to the Nationals in Mackay.

“The coaching appointments of Adrian and Brodie put the boys in experienced and familiar hands with both men being involved in the Junior Strike League and NT Academy program," Price said. 

Northern Territory Under 17 National Championships Squad

Jai Allman – Nightcliff CC

Ethan Anderson – Darwin CC

Harstik Bimbral – Palmerston CC

Lachlan Dumigan – Tracy Village

Sam Elder – Waratah CC

Taj Glenn – Nightcliff CC

Tom Grose – PINT

Ryan Harvey – Southern Districts CC

Tom Kelaart – Brisbane (Alice Springs)

Jayllen Naganayagam – Nightcliff CC

Lucas Nitschke – Palmerston CC

Will Pilkington – Darwin CC

Banjo Waring – Federal CC

Huw Wiltshire – Darwin CC