Northern Territory Cricket is delighted to announce the Under 18 female team who will travel to Tasmania in January 2020 and represent the NT at the National Cricket Championships.

The team consists of three Darwin based girls and one from Alice Springs who will come together with eight Queensland players and one Tasmanian to complete the team.

Rianna Carlson retains her position in the from the 2019 National Championships and comes into this competition with a wide range of experience behind her. Carlson played the 2019 TIO Women’s Strike League and is part of the Statewide Super Academy program and brings a good option to the top and middle order bat and provides a sound bowling option.

Also returning for a second consecutive National Championships is Olivia Pilkington. Pilkington joined Carlson in the Women’s Strike League and is also part of the Statewide Super Academy. This talented Darwin Cricket Club player will look to further her cricket and build on her performance at the 2019 Championships and is one of the youngest in the team at only 13 years of age. 

From Southern Districts Cricket Club is Emily Hayward who comes into the side as an aggressive middle order bat who coming off the back of a very positive 2019 Darwin and Districts Cricket Season.

Alice Springs based Elizabeth Johnson is the other youngest member of the team, also 13 years of age. She has been playing for Federal in the Under 15’s, Women’s and C grade competition. A huge up and coming talent coming out of Central Australia, and one for the other states to watch.

Johnson is delighted with her selection and can’t wait to soak in the experience and return a better player.

“I only started playing cricket two years ago and I just love it! I play in the under 15’s, women’s and C grade in Alice Springs for Federals and I’m really excited to be going to Tasmania to play for the NT.

“I’m one of the youngest players in the team which is a little bit scary but I’m excited to show the big girls what I’ve got. I’m looking forward to going away and hopefully I’ll come back a better player,” she said.

Despite being based in Tasmania, Hannah Wilson played for the NT at the 2019 National Indigenous Cricket Championship and is working hard to master her as a leggie. She is currently playing first grade ladies in Tasmania and this will see her in good stead leading into the championship.

Joining the Territory contingent from QLD is Ella Anderson, Jessica Bradley, Chelsea Gan, Emma Jackson, Hiruni Liyanarchchi Don, Kyra Smith, Olivia Steel and Zoe Valencic.

Alice Spring Statewide Super Academy Coach Bronte Stray will coach the team with Queensland’s Richard Griffiths stepping into the team manager role.

Northern Territory Cricket Pathways Specialist Megan White said she was excited to see this group of girls come together and represent the Territory with pride at the Championships.

“No doubt the NT has a way to come in terms of female cricket however through the Academy program and Women’s Strike League competition we have been able to identify some great talent and are now in a position where we can harness the raw talent and help shape these girls into great cricketers.

“Partnering with Queensland has been great, we worked closely with Mark Sorell (QLD Talent Development Manager – Women’s Cricket) to ensure the players have traits which complement each other and will have the opportunity to play to their strengths to strengthen the team.


2020 Northern Territory U18 Female Team

Ella Anderson QLD

Jessica Bradley QLD

Rianna Carlson NT

Chelsea Gan QLD

Emily Hayward NT

Emma Jackson QLD

Elizabeth Johnson NT

Hiruni Liyanarachchi Don QLD

Olivia Pilkington NT

Keyra Smith QLD

Olivia Steel QLD

Zoe Valencic QLD

Hannah Wilson TAS


Bronte Stray NT - Coach

Ciara Metcalfe - Manager

Harry Roper NT - Physio


For more information on the National Championships can here