NT Sports Awards Nominations Are Now Open

Cricket has a strong history with the Northern Territory Sports Awards and in 2023 Jim Ford OAM was added to the 'NT Sports Roll of Honour' for his contribution to Cricket and Waratah's Ash Chandrasinghe was awarded 'Local Performance of the Year'.

Previous cricket award recipients include D’Arcy Short who won 'Sportsperson of the Year' in 2019 followed by Kane Richardson who received the award in 2020. Shelly Nitschke took out the top honour in 2011 along with the NT Strike being awarded 'Team of the Year' in the same year and Julie Page awarded the Steve Abala Role Model medal in 2019.

A full list of previous award winners, which also include Mal Challen, Marcus Rosas and Southern Districts Cricket Club, can be found here.

Nominating highlights the remarkable achievements of teams and individuals and shows our appreciation for the significant role they play in the success of our sports community.

Every individual, team and club involved in sport and recreation around the Territory is eligible to be nominated across 9 categories including:

  • Sportsperson of the Year
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year
  • Masters Sportsperson of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Local Performance of the Year
  • Karen Schneider Sports Medicine Australia Safer Sport Award

This is your opportunity to acknowledge excellence in sport and shine a light on the wonderful players, coaches, officials and volunteers at your club.

Nominate by Friday 9 February at ntsportsawards.nt.gov.au

Awards will be announced on Saturday 20 April 2024 alongside individuals inducted to the NT Hall of Champions, NT Roll of Honour and the Steve Abala Role Model –the ‘Administrator’s Medal’.