Darwin ladies bring Desert Rose Cup home

The 2023 Desert Rose Cup was a resounding success, not only in terms of cricketing action but also in promoting women's cricket across the Territory.

Taking place at Albrecht Oval, the series showcased a blend of T20 and 40-over matches, including a captivating night match under the starlit desert sky. 

In the three-match series, it was Darwin who emerged victorious with a 2-1 win. 

The attendance of former Australian cricketer, as part of the Australian Cricketers’ Association’s Game Development Program, Delissa Kimmince was a highlight for many players as she shared her knowledge and passion for the game.  

An All Stars team was chosen following the series with a combination of Darwin and Alice Springs players selected.  


2023 Desert Rose All Stars Team  

Emily Johnston - Darwin 

Bronte Stray – Alice Springs 

Monet Hunter - Darwin 

Melissa Campbell - Darwin 

Emily McBride - Alice Springs 

Skylah Henwood – Alice Springs 

Sandy Warner – Alice Springs 

Joanne Posgate - Darwin 

Holly Spencer - Darwin 

Elizabeth Johnson – Alice Springs 

Zita Varatharajan – Darwin 


Match Results 

Match 1 (T20) 

Darwin defeated Alice Springs by 9 wickets 

Darwin 2/82(11) 

Alice Springs 79(18) 


Match 2 (T20) 

Darwin defeated Alice springs by 9 wickets 

Darwin 2/58(12) 

Alice Springs (20) 


Match 3 (40 over) 

Alice Springs defeated Darwin by 8 wickets 

Alice Springs 2/111(28) 

Darwin 110(28)