Nightcliff claim top club honors at Senior Presentation

The 2023 Darwin & Districts Cricket Competition Senior Presentation night celebrated the achievements of the Darwin’s Senior Cricketers, Clubs, Volunteers and Curators.

Held at Hilton Darwin on Friday 3 November, Darwin's Senior Presentation Night provided the opportunity to reflect on the 2023 season and reconnect as a community post season. 

Waratah's Ryan Hackney was awarded the prestigious Ralph Wiese Medal, polling two votes clear of Palmerston's Hamish Martin to claim the honour. Named after one of Darwin cricket competitions most outstanding cricketers and stalwart of cricket in the Northern Territory, the Ralph Wiese Medal is Darwin cricket's most prestigious award. 

Although Hackney was unable to attend due to commitments with Cricket New South Wales, Waratah Cricket Club President Sam Sellahewa accepted the medal on his behalf. Hackney was also awarded the batting average and aggregate award and Carlton Mid Premier Grade Cricketer of the Year following an outstanding season with the bat making 797 runs with an average of 99.96. Hackney made four centuries and two half centuries including a bitterly close 94 in round 2 of the competition. 

I don’t play cricket for individual awards but to be recognised is a great honour

— Ryan Hackney

Waratah's Monet Hunter was awarded the 2023 Women's Cricketer of the Year and although unable to attend, expressed her gratitude and excitement around the future of women's cricket in the Top End. 

The way cricket has grown for women in the Territory over the past couple of years puts a big smile on my face

— Monet Hunter


Nightcliff Cricket Club's strong season across the grades showed with the club claiming the 2023 Club Championship, Premier Grade Spirit of Cricket award, Minor Premiers Award and for the third year running, Curator award.

Nightcliff Cricket Club committee member Oscar Ball thanked the Nightcliff committee for the hard work they put into the season and was proud of what the club had achieved. 

To the whole committee, I thank you for the leadership you've delivered to help turn us into the club that we are today

— Oscar Ball

The Margaret Coady Memorial Award was presented to Tracy Village Cricket Club's Melissa Nixon for her passion, extraordinary time and commitment she is dedicating to her club and fantastic example she is setting for others. 

Melissa was humble in her acceptance stating it was a huge honor to receive the award which has been awarded for 25 years in memory of PINT scorer Marg Coady. 

Tracy Village is in my blood, my Dad was President for many years of the social and sports club and I'm very proud to be continuing his legacy.

— Melissa Nixon


Ralph Wiese Medallist: Ryan Hackney, Waratah Cricket Club

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Monet Hunter, Waratah Cricket Club

Margaret Coady Memorial Award: Melissa Nixon

Bob Vowles Curator Award: Nightcliff Cricket Club

Club Champions: Nightcliff Cricket Club

Club Champion Runners Up: Southern Districts Cricket Club

Premier Grade Spirit of Cricket: Nightcliff Cricket Club