Alice Springs, Golden Sistas & South Alice Sports Club Imparja Cup winners!

The 2024 Imparja Cup, powered by DXC Technology, saw 300 cricketer’s take part in the largest annual Indigenous cricket carnival held around the country. 

Starting as a match between two towns in the Northern Territory, Alice Springs and Tennant Creek, the annual event celebrates cricket, culture and country. 

The four day event comprised of 44 matches across four divisions at five venues around Alice Springs with teams hailing from Darwin, Tennant Creek, Laramba and Alice Springs with umpires also traveling a distance to be part of the action from Darwin, Katherine, Melbourne and Perth joining local umpires.

A highlight of the carnival was the 110 students from Alice Springs who took part in the Imparja Cup Schools Gala Day, getting a taste cricket at Ross Park oval. 

Alice Springs took out the Yeperenye Shopping Centre Major Centres Division Grand Final honours for the second year running defeating Brothers In Arms who entered the T20 division for the first time in 2024 after being champions of the Men’s Community Division in 2023. 

In the Women’s Division, in the 20th year anniversary of the Women’s division being played in the Imparja Cup, it was only fitting the ‘Golden Sistas’ were triumphant, a number of the ladies in the team were key in the inclusion of the women’s competition including Jenny Kroker and Chrissy Ponter. 

In their first Imparja Cup, the South Alice Sports Club won the Men’s Community Division, coming up against the Alice Springs Correctional Centre Team in the Grand Final at Flynn Drive.

All results can be found on PlayHQ.