Madushan and McBride Claim Top Honours At 2024 Alice Springs Cricket Awards Night

West Cricket Club’s Samindra Madushan and Federals Emily McBride have been awarded the Jarrod Wapper and Braszell Medal respectively at the annual Alice Springs Cricket Association Presentation Evening held on Sunday 17 March following stellar performances throughout the 2023/24 season.

Named after two of the Alice Springs cricket competition's most outstanding cricketers, the Jarrod Wapper and Jane Braszell Medals are Alice Springs Cricket’s most prestigious awards for male and female cricketers. Umpires award votes for player performance after each A Grade game in the Men's and Women's divisions throughout the season to determine a winner.

Madushan’s consistent performance throughout the season saw him secure the Jarrod Wapper Medal by Round 12, which is no surprise given he was also awarded the 2023/24 ASCA Senior Cricketer of the Year along with the A Grade batting average, batting aggregate and bowling average awards. 

Federal’s Emily McBride, was not only awarded the 2023/24 Braszell Medal but also the Jenny Kroker Women’s Cricket of the Year award and was recognised for her stellar season with the bat, taking home the Women’s Batting average and aggregate award.  

Emily’s off-field efforts were also recognised being awarded the Women’s Volunteer of the Year and ASCA Volunteer of the Year for her dedication in all forms of cricket from umpiring and scoring to coordinating roles assisting and with the Cricket Blast program.

Lara Duncum was awarded the Women’s Junior Volunteer of the Year.  

Following their A Grade team’s success and B Grade making the one day Grand Final, West Cricket Club were crowned 2023/24 ASCA Club Champions. 

Rovers Cricket Club were awarded the Spirit of Cricket Award. 

Alice Tigers Hari Bhatta was awarded the A Grade bowling aggregate award taking 24 wickets to finish the season.  

Maggie Johnson was awarded the Nanet Pagsanjan Women’s Rookie of the Year award while Maisie Johnson was awarded the Ashton Medal - KFC Summer League Player of the Series. 

Sandy Warner continued her for from last season and once again took out the Women’s Bowling Average Award and went one better, claiming the Bowling Aggregate award also with her 4 wickets at 7.07.   

Carlton Mid A Grade 
Batting Average – Samindra Madushan (553 runs @55.3)
Batting Aggregate – Samindra Madushan (553 runs)
Bowling Average – Samindra Madushan (22 wickets @ 10.32)
Bowling Aggregate – Hari Bhatta (24 wickets)
Yeperenye Shopping Centre Women’s Competition 
Batting Average – Emily McBride (221 runs @ 110.5)
Batting Aggregate – Emily McBride (221 runs)
Bowling Average – Sandy Warner (14 wickers @ 7.07)
Bowling Aggregate – Sandy Warner (14 wickets)
B Grade 
Batting Average – Nate Kelleher (307 runs @ 38.38)
Batting Aggregate – Deepinder Singh (337 runs)
Bowling Average – Imran Qamar (20 wickets @ 9.45)
Bowling Aggregate – Imran Qamar (20 wickets)

C Grade 
Batting Average – Luke Southam (403 runs @ 57.57)
Batting Aggregate – Luke Southam (403 runs)
Bowling Average – Jaiden Harman (19 wickets @ 5.21)
Bowling Aggregate – Jaiden Harman & Trevor Presley (19 wickets)
Under 16s 
Batting Average – Oscar Collin (164 runs @ 54.67)
Batting Aggregate – Samuel Rumpff (214 runs)
Bowling Average – Shakeel Faizer (9 wickets @ 4.22)
Bowling Aggregate – Shakeel Faizer (9 wickets)

Under 13s 
Batting Aggregate – Rhett Souter (506 runs)
Bowling Aggregate – Rhett Souter (13 wickets)

ASCA Senior Cricketer of the Year – Samindra Madushan 
Wapper Medal – Samindra Madushan
Under 16s Champion Player – Samuel Rumpff
Under 13s Champion Player – Rhett Souter
ASCA Boys Junior Cricketer of the Year - Rhett Souter
ASCA Girls Junior Cricketer of the Year - Olivia Schultz
Jenny Kroker Women’s Cricketer of the Year –Emily McBride
Braszell Medal – Emily McBride
Nanet Pagsanjan Women’s Rookie of the Year – Maggie Johnson
Ashton Medal: KFC Summer League Player of the series – Maisie Johnson 
Volunteer of the Year – Emily McBride
Women’s Volunteer of the Year – Emily McBride
Women’s Junior Volunteer of the Year – Lara Duncum
Spirit of Cricket Award – Rovers Cricket Club
Club Champion – West Cricket Club