Umpiring & Officiating

Accreditation & Pathway

Cricket Australia has a well-established Pathway from Community Cricket through to First Class and International Level...

Australian Cricket supports the development of umpires to enable them to become the best umpire that they can be.

Accreditation is an important part of the cricket framework and key to recruiting and retaining both players and officials, as well as helping to develop the Australian cricket pathway.

There are 3 levels of accreditation available to umpires in Australia:

All umpire accreditation is valid for four years and umpires are required to complete an up to date on-line learning program to retain their accreditation. Click here to find out more about reaccreditation.

Cricket Australia provide resources and learning opportunities to umpires across the country and are responsible for system delivery, online learning, modules and webinars. 

NT Cricket and NTCMOA are responsible for the face-to-face delivery of practical training sessions, Law Classes and local Seminars/Conventions. For more information about the courses available to you in the Northern Territory, head to our Courses page.

Umpire Competitions Pathway:
Umpiring Pathway
Match Officiating Level
Minimum Accreditation Required
Community Cricket
  • Local Community Matches
Community Officiating (recommended)
Premier Cricket
  • Interstate Umpire Exchanges
  • Underage Championships
Representative Officiating (recommended)
State Panels
  • Toyota Second XI
  • Big Bash League (Fourth Umpire)
  • Underage Championships
Representative Officiating (recommended)
National Umpire Panel
  • Sheffield Shield
  • Marsh One-Day Cup
  • Big Bash League
  • Overseas Umpire Exchange
Representative Officiating (compulsory)
ICC Elite Panel
  • Test Matches
  • One-Day Internationals
  • T20 Internationals
ICC International Accreditation (compulsory)